How He Loves Us

As I was cuddling Caleb and listening to music after he ate earlier I was overcome with emotion when I thought about the miracle that he is. That God made this tiny little life, placed it inside me, and now he’s here on loan to Zach and I to raise as best we can. God has an amazing plan and purpose for Caleb and I have no idea what that is, but just thinking about it makes me excited to see what Caleb becomes, but also overcome with how much God loves us. That each of us are His children and He has a unique and wonderful destiny for each life He creates. Wow. He loves us so much that He gave HIS little boy as a loving sacrifice to save us all. Being the parent of a little boy and having lost a child to miscarriage, I cannot imagine how difficult that must have been, not only to give Christ up, but knowing from the start of his earthly life that he would die for the sins of the world at only 33 years of age. Mary knew the greatness Jesus would become, but she didn’t know she would watch him suffer and die on the cross. Had she known, I bet that she would have counted each day with her son as blessed and precious because those days were numbered. Zach and I are so blessed to be given this little life to shape and mold, to love and nurture, and to lead into a relationship with the Lord. I am going to make it my mission to remember, especially on the bad days and in tough moments, that our days here are numbered and the time I have with Caleb is precious and a blessing. I sit in awe of the miraculous life that is my son and of the incredible talents he’s been given and plan that God has mapped for him. In awe that I am lucky enough to be able to watch as Caleb’s gifts emerge and his path becomes clearer. Amazed that as much as I love Caleb, it is like a drop in the ocean compared to the love the Father has for him, and for me.

“And I realize just how beautiful you are and how great your affections are for me. Oh how He loves us so. Oh how He loves us. How He loves us so.” – David Crowder Band, How He Loves

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Caleb, Faith, Music

One response to “How He Loves Us

  1. I’ve been thinking about this a lot too! On the difficult days, I like to remind myself that I have this precious little gift and I am instantly grateful. Last night as I watched Abby sleep in her crib, I couldn’t help but think that one day, she’ll be in this world on her own, making her own decisions and leading her own life. And of course, having a child has also opened my eyes a bit more to the sacrifice God made for us, and the unimaginable sacrifice Mary made to bring Jesus into this world. God has taught me incredible lessons through parenting!

Leave a Reply

